Sunday 6 November 1664

(Lord’s day). Up and with my wife to church. Dined at home. And I all the afternoon close at my office drawing up some proposals to present to the Committee for the Fishery to-morrow, having a great good intention to be serviceable in the business if I can. At night, to supper with my uncle Wight, where very merry, and so home. To prayers and to bed.

4 Annotations

Robert Gertz   Link to this

Careful, Unc... Your dear relatives with just cause just saw "Macbeth".

Seriously, it's always interesting to me that Sam makes no suggestion that Uncle is seeking or getting anything from him; especially when Sam speaks of a good day with the Fishery Committee I'd expect to find evidence that our fishmonger Uncle has some finger in the pie but as yet, nothing from Sam indicating Wight is involved or even interested in his dealings. So far only in the business of the mysterious Iuduco Maes has there been any hint of Wight seeking favors or help from his well-connected nephew.

JWP   Link to this

favors?

There was this hint, apparently squashed: http://www.pepysdiary.com/diary/1662/08/16/

Pauline   Link to this

The Weblog Awards
Voting ends Thursday, November 8 at 10:00pm GMT (5:00pm EST, 2:00pm PST). Vote daily!

jeannine   Link to this

The Weblog Awards

In today's episode, the infamous Lady Castlemaine will do just about anything to tempt a vote out of you! (including almost losing her head!)

http://www.jibjab.com/starring_you/receipt/2631110

Log in to post an annotation.

If you don't have an account, then register here.